A Green Digest Of Biden’s Climate Summit

The Global Greens COP26 Working Group will host an international virtual forum on Tuesday, June 1st at (7:00 pm EST; 11:00 pm UTC; 09:00 am AEST[+1]).

The forum is a response to the recent Earth Day Summit convened by US President Biden and will interrogate whether the commitments made by the US and other nations at the Summit are enough to keep global warming below 1.5 degrees.

This Virtual Forum will detail various Green responses to commitments made at the Earth Day Climate Summit. The broad consensus is that much deeper cuts to greenhouse gas emissions are required as we proceed to COP26 in Glasgow. There can be no further delay.

Speakers will address the need for faster reductions in greenhouse emissions and for the industrial polluter nations to dramatically increase climate reparations to assist the Global South. Responding powerfully to this Climate Crisis is the only solution.

The Forum will be moderated by Davene Chávez, Sustainable Development Engineer and representative of the Green Party of Mexico to the Young Greens of the Americas.

Presenters include:

Dr. Jill Stein, Presidential Candidate 2012 and 2016 and former leader of the Green Party of the United States;

Mohamed Awad, President of the Egyptian Green Party, Vice President of the African Green Federation;

Professor Katharine Hayhoe, atmospheric scientist, Director of the Climate Science Centre, Professor of Political Science at Texas Tech University.


  • June 01, 2021 at 7:00pm – 9pm
  • Global Greens COP26 Working Group
gnd

Showing 1 reaction

  • David Doonan
    published this page in Calendar 2021-05-28 16:11:53 -0400