International Women's Day 2021

The Green Party National Women’s Caucus would like to highlight the very diverse group of women who continue to run for political office and those who are elected to serve.

On International Women’s Day we reflect on why it’s important to have women elected to political positions. Women who are elected to serve politically show young girls that if they dream it, they can be it!

Twenty-seven percent of seats in Congress are now held by women, the highest number in U.S. history, but more women must be elected to speak on women’s issues. Our voices matter when the majority of men continue to hold the majority of power in elected government positions, writing laws over women’s bodies, over our incomes, over our education choices and over our future in the workforce.

Women holding political office today are proof that women are equally valued and necessary in all political positions. The vast diversity of women in office helps protect women’s rights and gives us strong representation.

On International Women’s Day, we honor our Green Party women officeholders shown below and commend them for their service.


Carolyn Dixon, Governing Board Member, Wright Elementary School District, Santa Rosa

Laura Esperanza Surls, Canyon School Board, Canyon Township

Dana Silvernale, Governing Boardmember, North Humboldt Union High School District

Melissa Curiel, Community Seat, Boyle Heights Neighborhood Council, Los Angeles

Lisa DeNiscia, Board of Directors, Central San Pedro Neighborhood, Los Angeles

Lisa Johnson, Area 5 Representative, Foothills Trails District Neighborhood Council, Los Angeles

Danielle Mead, Infrastructure Chair, Hollywood Hills West Neighborhood Council, Los Angeles

Valery Larson, Recreation and Park District, Sonoma County



Dagmar Noll, Town Council, Willimantic

Daphne Dixon, Zoning Board of Appeals, Fairfield (alternate)

Darcy Van Ness, Zoning Board of Appeals Alternate, Waterford

Enevia Baidoo Keene, Zoning Board of Assessment Appeals, Windham

Cassandra Martineau, Zoning Board of Appeals Alternate, Willimantic



Jessica Bradshaw, City Council, Carbondale

Holly Scholz, Fox Valley Park District, District 3 (Kane, DuPage, and Will Counties)

Sandy Lezon, Library Board of Trustees, Warrenville Public Library District



Anna Trevorrow, Board of Education, At-large, Portland



Annie Chambers, Douglas Homes representative, Residents Advisory Board, Public Housing Authority, Baltimore



Sharon Moss, Town Meeting Representative, Shrewsbury

Joyce Palmer-Fortune, Select Board, Whately



Kat Bruner James, City Council, Ferndale

Evely Pridemore, Redford Union School District, Redford



LaTrisha Vetaw, Park and Recreation Board, Minneapolis



Shauleen Higgin, City Council, Lakeside



Tara Yaney, Borough Council, Edgewood

Kristin Combs, Judge of Elections, Philadelphia

Julia Zion, Judge of Elections, Maxatawny Township

Olivia Faison, Inspector of Elections, Philadelphia



Deanna Taylor, Secretary, Fairpark Community Council, Salt Lake City


With Gratitude,
National Women's Caucus
Green Party of the United States


Showing 1 reaction

  • David Doonan
    published this page in Remembrance 2021-03-08 10:57:33 -0500