Friday Workshops


To view the following workshops, you must be registered. The registration deadline is July 5

Friday Workshop Schedule - July 10, 2020

Descriptions are listed below the schedule. Please note that this is a tentative schedule and is subject to change.

Session 1

1:00 p.m – 2:15 p.m. Eastern
12:00 p.m. – 1:15 p.m. Central
11:00 a.m. – 12:15 pm Mountain
10:00 a.m. – 11:15 a.m. Pacific
9:00 a.m. – 10:15 a.m. Alaska
7:00 a.m. – 8:15 a.m. Hawaii

 

It's All About the Benjamins: Budgeting, Fundraising and Finance for Green Party Candidates: Hillary Kane

We're Here And We're Queer: AJ Reed

A War by Any Other Name: Margaret FlowersRich WhitneyKevin Zeese


Session 2

2:30 p.m. – 3:45 p.m. Eastern
1:30 p.m. – 2:45 p.m. Central
12:30 p.m. – 1:45 p.m. Mountain
11:30 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. Pacific
10:30 a.m. – 11:45 a.m. Alaska
8:30 a.m. – 9:45 a.m. Hawaii

 

GPUS Elections Database: How to use it: Mike Feinstein

For an Ecosocialist Green Party: Chris Blankenhorn
Link to Workshop Materials

Impact of COVID on the Black Community: Trahern Crews


Session 3

4:00 p.m. – 5:15 p.m. Eastern
3:00 p.m. – 4:15 p.m. Central
2:00 p.m. – 3:15 p.m. Mountain
1:00 p.m. – 2:15 p.m. Pacific
12:00 p.m. – 1:15 p.m. Alaska
10:00 a.m. – 11:15 a.m. Hawaii

 

Linking CRM strategy, tactics, and metrics to the Strategic Plan (pre-reg): Philena Farley
Pre-registration form
Link to Workshop Materials

Media Tips for Candidates: Holly Hart, Media Committee

The Money Power Revolution: From Private Debt to Public Money
Joe BongiovaniSue Peters, Mary Sanderson, Howard Switzer
Link to Workshop Materials


Workshop Descriptions

 

It's All About the Benjamins: Budgeting, Fundraising and Finance for Green Party Candidates

Come to this workshop to learn the ins and outs of the various financial aspects of campaigning -- how to get money, how to spend money, and how to keep track of it. We will cover each of these three topics in succession. This workshop is ideal for current and future candidates, campaign managers, fundraisers and treasurers.

Led by Hillary Kane, Coordinated Campaign Committee and GPUS Treasurer

 

We're Here And We're Queer: AJ Reed

This interactive workshop is for participants that want to know more about the LGBTQ+ community and the intersectionality of LGBTQ+ rights. The workshop format will be both lecture and discussion

 

A War by Any Other Name: Margaret Flowers, Rich Whitney, Kevin Zeese

Modern U.S. imperialism has adapted its means and methods of engaging in war. In the last decade, the U.S. has committed acts of war against a dozen or more nations, killing hundreds of thousands -- while losing less than 150 soldiers to combat deaths. This has played a major role in reducing domestic resistance to war and marginalizing the peace movement. The methods used include:

  • Drone warfare and other aircraft-only assaults
  • Use of Surrogates – Other countries and mercenaries
  • Economic sanctions
  • Strategic deployment of military bases
  • Use of CIA, NED, other NGOs and paid agents to disrupt and destroy national political autonomy

Except for the growing use of drones, none of these methods are actually “new” but they have been “improved” and have become the primary tools of imperialism and war. The peace movement – including the Green Party and its candidates – must adapt its messaging to reflect this new reality. With so few U.S. soldiers returning home in body bags, we must find new means of stirring public opposition to militarism and war. In this workshop, we will lay out the key facts about modern forms of warfare and share some ideas about how the peace movement should respond.

 

GPUS Elections Database: How to use it: Coordinated Campaign Committee

  • How many Greens are running for office this year in the U.S?
  • How many have run in other years? In our history?
  • What offices do Greens run for the most?
  • Which Greens have been elected - and to what kind of offices?

The answers to these and many more questions are found in the Elections Data Base of the Green Party of the United States! You are invited to an interactive workshop to understand how the Green Party Elections Data Base works - and how you can use it for your advantage in Green Party organizing.

Former Santa Monica, CA Green Mayor Mike Feinstein is the co-administrator of the Data Base. He will present how the data base works and respond to your questions in real time, moving around the data base on a shared screen to show where the answers lie and how to get there.

You will be able to ask questions live — and if you want in advance you can begin reviewing the data base now at www.gpelections.org

 

For an Ecosocialist Green Party: Chris Blankenhorn

Ecosocialism is a rising point of discussion within the Green Party and the broader left. In this workshop, former GPUS Co-Chair, Howie Hawkins 2020 Tech and Social Media Director, and Young Ecosocialists Education Committee Vice-Chair Chris Blankenhorn will make the case why the Green Party must embrace this label and become more explicit in its vision.

 

The Money Power Revolution: Joe Bongiovani, Sue Peters, Mary Sanderson, Howard Switzer

Masses of people world-around are standing up against state violence which has put the plutocracy back on its heels. We face a protracted depression and environmental extremes, with a dysfunctional political system corrupted by big private money power. Many small businesses collapse while huge fortunes are made by a few. Panicked consumers stockpile paper, food, and weapons. The government’s reaction is inconsistent and ineffectual. Ordinary commerce grinds to a halt; investors can find no safe assets. Political factionalism grows more intense as everything falls apart. The conditions for revolution are being met.

The Banking and Monetary Reform Committee will share information on how revolutions are funded and explore the ways in which we can fund our own. We will reveal how money is the key driver of climate, war, social injustice and capitalism, and how changing the money system can mitigate or eliminate these problems.

We will also explain the unusual activity that has been going on at the Fed over the last 6 months, that describes the beginning of a bigger bailout of the banks than 2008. This provides an opportunity to raise public awareness of how we can change this private for-profit credit-money system of debt-slavery to a just sovereign money system dedicated to the general welfare.

 

Linking CRM strategy, tactics, and metrics to the Strategic Plan (pre-reg): Philena Farley

What is the goal of our CRM initiative?

Is it to increase donation revenue, increase average order size for branded merchandise, decrease ballot access acquisition costs, improve voter retention, or decrease inquiry response times? The process of defining a value-based CRM plan starts with linking the highest-level Strategic Plan goals to a clear set of specific CRM strategies and tactics. This workshop will demonstrate how to align CRM metrics with the outcomes we are trying to accomplish so we can track progress towards those goals.

 

Media Tips for Candidates: Holly Hart, Media Committee

Media Basics - a broad overview of what is involved, including campaign materials, "traditional" media, social medial, tips and resources

 

Impact of COVID on the Black Community: Trahern Crews

This workshop will focus on Reparations for the American Descendants of Slavery. Participants will learn about measures that are taking place at the local state and federal levels across the country to implement reparatory justice policies and what they can do in their city or state to help. Facilitators will explain how Reparations have become an issue in the 2020 Presidential election.